An exclusive blog and forum about the study and life in Germany. Read blog posts to enhance your knowledge about the study in Germany and use the German Study Guide Forum to ask questions. If you want to read blog posts or ask questions on the go then download our app 'GSG Forum'.

Which countries can I travel to on a Schengen visa?

Schengen visa is valid for the Schengen area that consists of 26 countries. These 26 countries belong to both EU and non-EU countries. Schengen area allows free movement of people in all 26 countries without any legal restriction.

Any person who owns a temporary or permanent residence of any European country can enjoy free traveling in the whole Schengen area.

Foreigners who get any kind of Schengen-visa (visit visa, job-seeking visa, study visa) for any European country can also freely travel to the whole Schengen area.

List of countries you can visit with Schengen visa:

The following EU countries are part of the Schengen area.

  1. Denmark
  2. Germany
  3. Belgium
  4. Austria
  5. Czech Republic
  6. Estonia
  7. Finland
  8. France
  9. Greece
  10. Hungary
  11. Italy
  12. Latvia
  13. Lithuania
  14. Luxembourg
  15. Malta
  16. Netherlands
  17. Poland
  18. Portugal
  19. Slovakia
  20. Slovenia
  21. Spain
  22. Sweden

And, the following non-EU countries are also part of the Schengen area.

  1. Norway
  2. Switzerland
  3. Iceland
  4. Liechtenstein

So, together the total number of these countries becomes 26. UK and Ireland are part of the European Union but they are not part of the Schengen area. A traveler needs a visa to enter these countries. It is expected in the near future that Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, and Romania will join the Schengen area.

Related Article


Leave a Comment



Top 5 German Universities

  1. LMU Munich
  2. Technical University of Munich
  3. Heidelberg University
  4. Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin
  5. University of Tübingen
  6. Humboldt University of Berlin
  7. Read More…